A Shifting of Stars Review

Okay, last post for the day, I promise. I wasn’t expecting to post this much today but everything seemed to happen so quickly over the past few days, and today feels like a Monday because of Memorial Day being yesterday, so my week is officially off track. If you missed any of the posts from this morning you can click here for today’s releases and here for the May Fae Crate Unboxing!

A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray

*I received an advance copy of this book to review*

Synopsis:

“A squandering emperor.

A wicked prince.

A handsome stranger.

And the reluctant girl who’ll capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.”

Review:

4.25 Stars

If you like:

  • Corrupt Royals
  • Adventures
  • Slow Burn Romances
  • Hidden Secrete
  • and Magical Elements

Then this could be the book for you!

I’ll have to say that I throughly enjoyed reading this book! The development of the world and characters is so captivating and detailed making the story come to life!

If you know anything about me and some of the things that I love to see in books, you’d know that anything with the kingdoms (princes and princesses), MC making a change, and the hope of love is enough to make me add a book to my tbr. So when I read the synopsis for this book, I knew that I wanted to review it from the start!

Through out the course of the story we get to see the grief and anger of Meadow’s mother death fuel Meadow’s desire to speak out about the way the kingdom is being ruled by the new king. Meadow has to learn how to stay unnoticed and learn who she can trust once she finds herself working as a servant to the sister of the prince who wants to torture her. That is until she is able to escape from the palace on the way to a “safe house”. 

“At the base of the stairs, I still my feet, a dull pain forming behind my eyes. I’m unsure if etiquette dictates I must bow. Then again, I’m feeling suddenly defiant.”

From there Meadow ends up traveling with an old friend and a few newly made friends on a trip to save her father. 

With the twists and turns of each bump in the road (both literally and figuratively) Meadow is sometimes left questioning everything she thought is true. 

“No one wants to hear about sadness. People don’t care for the sorrow of strangers. They long for a future that’s haloed by roses. To believe in the beauty of sunsets and lovers.”

Can she trust this boy that she met a few days ago to help her save her father? Will she always have to hid to avoid the prince’s wrath? How will she be able to help others when she still fells broken at times?

I think one of the reasons I like Meadow so much is because of how raw she is. She feels so much, and at times she has to stop and cry to let her emotions out. During the story Meadow becomes a stronger person because of the hardships she has faced and life, and she sees how corrupt the king and his son is causing her to want to fight for those without a voice.

AND THE LIES AND BETRAYAL

The last 50 or so pages of the book I literally could not handle. Between the secretes revealed about Vogel and Casper to the whole things that I can’t really talk about with things happening to Meadow and Vogel to the masks that some of the royal put on. I. JUST. CAN’T. I was crying and hanging on to the edge of my set trying to figure out what was going to happen.

I want to thank Kathy for sending me an advance copy of her book to read!

Happy reading until next time,

One thought on “A Shifting of Stars Review

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s