My Fall TBR: Top Ten Tuesday

Hi everyone! Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about our fall TBR. Normally, I’m not one to set a TBR because I’m a mood reader and can’t that far in advance when it comes to reading, but I decided that I would reread some books in the fall since I’m busy with nursing school!

Speaking of school, I just got done with my physical assessment validation and passed! I’m so glad that’s out of the way because any type of validation is stressful to me.

And, since my birthday is this weekend, I would love to get to 350 followers (I’m only 7 away!!!).

Anyway, TTT is a weekly meme hosted by thatartsyreadergirl!

The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  • Obsidian
  • Onyx
  • Opal
  • Origin
  • Opposition

Obsidian Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

It has been a few years since I’ve read this series! I would love to reread this series and The Darkest Star before The Burning Shadow comes out in early October. I love reading about the development of Daemon and Katy’s relationship throughout the series and how they interact with each other.

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

“Sydney’s handsome, charismatic older brother, Peyton, has always dominated the family, demanding and receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention. And when Peyton’s involvement in a drunk driving episode sends him to jail, Sydney feels increasingly rootless and invisible, worried that her parents are unconcerned about the real victim: the boy Peyton hit and seriously injured. Meanwhile, Sydney becomes friends with the Chathams, a warm, close-knit, eccentric family, and their friendship helps her understand that she is not responsible for Peyton’s mistakes. Once again, the hugely popular Sarah Dessen tells an engrossing story of a girl discovering friendship, love, and herself.”

To be honest, I don’t remember much about this book detail wise, but I remember really enjoying it! I know when it first came out, a lot of people didn’t really like it making me hesitant to read it, but as I was reading it, I couldn’t figure out why they didn’t enjoy it!

The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas

Never trust a guy in spandex.

In Abby Hamilton’s world, superheroes do more than just stop crime and save cats stuck in trees―they also drink milk straight from the carton and hog the television remote. Abby’s older brother moonlights as the famous Red Comet, but without powers of her own, following in his footsteps has never crossed her mind.

That is, until the city’s newest vigilante comes bursting into her life.

After saving Abby from an attempted mugging, Morriston’s fledgling supervillain Iron Phantom convinces her that he’s not as evil as everyone says, and that their city is under a vicious new threat. As Abby follows him deeper into their city’s darkest secrets, she comes to learn that heroes can’t always be trusted, and sometimes it’s the good guys who wear black.

Chosen by readers like you for Macmillan’s young adult imprint Swoon Reads, The Supervillain and Me is a hilarious, sweet, and action-packed novel by debut author Danielle Banas that proves no one is perfect, not even superheroes.”

I read this book over a year ago and absolutely loved it! It was one of the first books where there were actual super heroes and such. And to make things even better, the MC is a normal human a world with super powers, how cool is that!!!

The Selection Series Books 1-3 by Kiera Cass

  • The Selection
  • The Elite
  • The One

The Selection Synopsis:

“Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”

It has been a good 4 or 5 years since I finished book 3, and I’m interested if I would love these books like I did back at the end of middle school. When I first read this book, the world (and Maxon) captivated me from the first book.

First Love by James Patterson and Emily Raymond

Synopsis:

“Axi Moore is a “good girl”: She studies hard, stays out of the spotlight, and doesn’t tell anyone that she wants to run away from it all. The only person she can tell is her best friend, Robinson-and she’s madly in love with him.

When Axi impulsively invites Robinson to come with her on an unplanned cross-country road trip, she breaks the rules for the first time in her life. But the adventure quickly turns from carefree to out-of-control . . .”

As y’all know I love a good HEA, but even though this book has a sad ending, I still loving it because it has such a sweet love story!!!

The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

“Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara-even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.

Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry, lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?

But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band when her sister could be dying of cancer?”

This is one of the first books I read that involves music and bands, so it will always hold a special place in my heart! Sure there are some clichés in this book, but it was so much fun to see the life of a boyband!

The Testing Series by Joelle Charbonneau

  • The Testing
  • Independent Studies
  • Graduation Day

“It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about—hope for—is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (”Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance—and sheer terror—await.”

This book is kind of like The Hunger Games meets Divergent, but better! I love that this book is more academically driven, and there’s so many twists and turns through out the series!

The Syrena Legacy by Anna Banks

  • Of Poseidon
  • Of Triton
  • Of Neptune

Of Poseidon Synopsis:

“Galen, a Syrena prince, searches land for a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish.

It’s while Emma is on vacation at the beach that she meets Galen. Although their connection is immediate and powerful, Galen’s not fully convinced that Emma’s the one he’s been looking for.

That is, until a deadly encounter with a shark proves that Emma and her Gift may be the only thing that can save his kingdom. He needs her help―no matter what the risk.”

I read this book during high school and was in love with it by the end of the first chapter! There’s something about the banter between Emma and Galen that was so adorable, and Emma finding out that merpeople are real and discovering secrets that have been kept from her by some very close people!

What are some of the books on your TBR? Let me know below!

Happy reading until next time,

7 thoughts on “My Fall TBR: Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s