Books I Want to Reread Top Ten Tuesday | Blogmas Day 1

Hi everyone! Happy first day of a new month! It’s that time of year again for blogmas *queue lights and Christmas music* (click here for last year’s blogmas posts). I’m planning on posting consistently every day on my blog leading up to the 25th. Last year I did this and had so much fun! I have some ideas for some things that I’ve been meaning to sit down and write, so hopefully I’ll have time on Christmas break!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl)  prompt is Books I Want to Read Again which I think is a great prompt since there are so many books that I want to reread and review!

If you’re looking for some YA Christmas books be sure to check out my recommendations!

I also created a FB group for book lovers to talk about books and nonbookish things!

The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (A Lux Novel Book 1) by [Jennifer L. Armentrout]

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

I love Katy and Daemon *heart eyes*. This was the first book I had read by JLA and made me fall in love with her characters and world. It took me forever to find the books when I had read it the first time around, so I had to wait weeks in between books. So, it would been nice to read the whole series through without so much time passing! The only book I’ve reviewed in this world is The Darkest Star that follows Luc after the events in the Lux Series.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

In my little 8th grade heart, I fell in love with Maxon and America’s story of finding love in a world with royals and the caste system which kind of surprised me at the time because I’m not into the Bachelor/Bachelorette series. I had read this entire series in less than a week and couldn’t but it down. To this day, I’m still in love with their story. When I reread this series, I think I’d only reread the first part of the series because the books following Eden wasn’t my cup of tea.

Crave by Tracy Wolff

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.

Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me.
Which could spell death for us all.

Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally―as the bait.

I had originally read an ARC of Crave back in March/April this year and would love to see if there are any differences between the ARC and finished copy! I was also reading this book with more of a reviewer mindset than I would with a normal book I’d pick up to read. I probably should have reread it earlier since I had just finished Crush (and currently writing the review for that). I might just have to reread the first two books early next year for the release of Covet.

What Light by Jay Asher

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

You know, I was really surprised that I enjoyed What Light because I had read 13 Reasons Why like 4 years prior and based off of that book, I wasn’t a fan of Jay’s work. But, What Light is a Christmas book that tugged on my heartstrings and made me glad that was able to give it a chance despite 13 Reasons.

More Than Maybe by Erin Hahn

More Than Maybe: A Novel by [Erin Hahn]

Growing up under his punk rocker dad’s spotlight, eighteen-year-old Luke Greenly knows fame and wants nothing to do with it. His real love isn’t in front of a crowd, it’s on the page. Hiding his gift and secretly hoarding songs in his bedroom at night, he prefers the anonymous comfort of the locally popular podcast he co-hosts with his outgoing and meddling, far-too-jealousy-inspiringly-happy-with-his-long-term-boyfriend twin brother, Cullen. But that’s not Luke’s only secret. He also has a major un-requited crush on music blogger, Vada Carsewell.

Vada’s got a five year plan: secure a job at the Loud Lizard to learn from local legend (and her mom’s boyfriend) Phil Josephs (check), take over Phil’s music blog (double check), get accepted into Berkeley’s prestigious music journalism program (check, check, check), manage Ann Arbor’s summer concert series and secure a Rolling Stone internship. Luke Greenly is most definitely NOT on the list. So what if his self-deprecating charm and out of this world music knowledge makes her dizzy? Or his brother just released a bootleg recording of Luke singing about some mystery girl on their podcast and she really, really wishes it was her?

In More Than Maybe, Erin Hahn’s swooniest book yet, Luke and Vada must decide how deep their feelings run and what it would mean to give love a try.

This is another book that I had read an ARC of. I’m a big fan of Erin’s book after I had read You’d Be Mine. I love More Than Maybe because it follows to music lovers from different worlds and Luke is just one big swoon!

Ghost Bird Series by C.L. Stone

Introductions: The Ghost Bird Series: #1 by [C. L. Stone]

With an agoraphobic mother and a barely-there father, Sang abhors the isolation keeping her in the shadows. The only thing Sang craves is a fresh start and to be accepted as ordinary by her peers, because for her being different meant being cast out alone.

When her family moves to a new school district, Sang infiltrates a group of boys nearly perfect in every way. Grateful for an influence outside of her parents’ negativity, she quickly bonds with the boys, hoping to blend in and learn from them what it means to have a natural relationship with friends.

Only the boys have secrets of their own and they’ll do anything to keep her safe from the knowledge of the mysterious Academy that they’ve sworn allegiance to. Bit by bit, Sang discovers that her friends are far from the normalcy she expected. Will her loyalty change when she’s forced to remain in the dark, or will she accept that she’s traded one house of secrets for another?

Meet Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke and North in a story about differences and loyalty, truth and mystery, friendships and heart-throbbing intimacy.

The Academy, ever vigilant.

I don’t make it a habit to reread certain books or series every year, but The GB Series is one that I try to reread because I love this group of characters and it’s the book that got me into reading reverse harem. I had started my reread last summer back in 2019 I think and was able to read and review Introductions and get through First Days, but was unable to get any farther in the series because I had other projects! But, with the release date of book 13 hinted at being dropped soon, I need to refresh myself!

What are some books you’d like to reread? Let me know below!

Happy reading until next time,

17 thoughts on “Books I Want to Reread Top Ten Tuesday | Blogmas Day 1

  1. OMG JLA IS BAAEEEE!!!! The Obsidian series was SUCH an obsession for me OMG. tell me you’re reading Luc’s story! I was also super excited to read Crave and I was surprised to find I liked it quite a bit!

    Like

  2. Pingback: WWW 12/2/20 and November Wrap-Up | Blogmas Day 2 | Lala's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Somewhere New/5SOS Album Book Tag [Original] | Blogmas Day 3 | Lala's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: The NOPE! Book Tag | Blogmas Day 7 | Lala's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: OwlCrate How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories and The Ex-Talk Swag Unboxing | Blogmas Day 8 | Lala's Book Reviews

  6. Pingback: FairyLoot November 2020 Unboxing: Enemies to Lovers | Blogmas Day 10 | Lala's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: Books on My Christmas Break TBR: Top Ten Tuesday | Blogmas Day 15 | Lala's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: Books I’d like to Buy for Myself: Top Ten Tuesday | Lala's Book Reviews

  9. Pingback: My Top Read Books of 2020 | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s