Books I Want to Read on My Christmas Break: Top Ten Tuesday | Blogmas Day 15

Hi everyone! For today’s top ten Tuesday, I thought I’d change it up slightly to talk about the books I’d like to read during my Christmas break instead of the whole winter season! I also figured whatever I don’t read or get to during the upcoming weeks will just rollover into the following winter months, so it’s all about the same.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl 

Since We Last Spoke by Brenda Rufener

Since We Last Spoke

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon, this heartbreaking and uplifting novel captures the ups and downs of teen love in the face of unimaginable gref and the rocky journey to healing, peace, and forgiveness. From breakout author Brenda Rufener (Where I Live).

When Aggi Frank and Max Granger finally admitted their feelings for each other last December, it felt like love was beautiful and endless . . . until it wasn’t.

A fatal car accident involving their older siblings throws their lives into sudden chaos. And with a restraining order now in place between the two bitter households, Aggi and Max’s love runs cold. Being together again seems like a distant fantasy, even though they share the same driveway.

Still, Plum Lake is a small town, and staying apart can’t last forever. Aggi and Max eventually reunite at a lake-house party and break the ice after a year of silence.

But just as they begin to rebuild their relationship, the unthinkable happens, leading them to confront each other and their families in the hope of mending the broken pieces.

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Kingdom of the Wicked

Two sisters.One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…And an intoxicating romance.Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost-even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked-princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

These Violent Delights

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

A Deal with the Elf King by Elise Kova

A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic) by [Elise Kova]

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

Battlefield Love by Skyler Andra (an RH Book)

Battlefield Love: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance (Operation Cupid Book 1) by [Skyler Andra]

Love is for suckers.

Love is overrated.

Love makes you vulnerable.

Locke Casey knows all too well about being burned by love. But Cupid’s powers are taking hold whether she likes it or not! Now she’s got the feels for the sexy and broody Rane, the mischievous and evasive Mads, and Byron, her college love who broke her heart. Opening her heart to love, and tapping into her Cupid powers-the good, bad and downright ugly-terrifies her. But a girl’s gotta do, what a Love God wants her to do…

Battlefield Love is the first in a slow burn reverse harem series with godly avatars that will leave you breathless, protective alphas that won’t let you go, and a second chance at love.

The Betrothed by Kiera Cass

The Betrothed

A would-be queen. A handsome young king. A perfect match…or is it?

When King Jameson declares his love for Lady Hollis Brite, Hollis is shocked—and thrilled. After all, she’s grown up at Keresken Castle, vying for the king’s attention alongside other daughters of the nobility. Capturing his heart is a dream come true.

But Hollis soon realizes that falling in love with a king and being crowned queen may not be the happily ever after she thought it would be. And when she meets a commoner with the mysterious power to see right into her heart, she finds that the future she really wants is one that she never thought to imagine.

The Kiss Thief by LJ Shen

The Kiss Thief by [LJ Shen]

They say your first kiss should be earned.

Mine was stolen by a devil in a masquerade mask under the black Chicago sky.

They say the vows you take on your wedding day are sacred.

Mine were broken before we left church.

They say your heart only beats for one man.

Mine split and bled for two rivals who fought for it until the bitter end.

I was promised to Angelo Bandini, the heir to one of the most powerful families in the Chicago Outfit.

Then taken by Senator Wolfe Keaton, who held my father’s sins over his head to force me into marriage.

They say that all great love stories have a happy ending.

I, Francesca Rossi, found myself erasing and rewriting mine until the very last chapter.

One kiss.

Two men.

Three lives.

Entwined together.

And somewhere between these two men, I had to find my forever.

What are some books you want to read soon? Let me know below!

Other Blogmas Posts: Books I Want to Reread | 12/1/20 Releases | WWW 12/2/20 and November Wrap-Up | Somewhere New/5SOS Album Book Tag | Crush Review | His Best Friend’s Little Sister Review | Bookish Box Unboxing | 12/8/20 Releases | The NOPE! Book Tag | How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories/OC Black Friday Haul/The Ex-Talk Swag Unboxing | November FairyLoot | Jan 2021 Releases | Feb. 2021 Releases | About Tomorrow Review + Playlist + Excerpt | Taking Online Classes during the Pandemic

6 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read on My Christmas Break: Top Ten Tuesday | Blogmas Day 15

  1. Pingback: Books I’d like to Buy for Myself: Top Ten Tuesday | Lala's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: My Top Read Books of 2020 | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s