Blog Tour: Glimpsed by G. F. Miller Review + Favorite Quotes

Glimpsed by G.F. Miller
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: January 5th 2021

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Contemporary, Magical realism, Magic, Fiction, Paranormal

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?

Book Links:

Goodreads || Amazon US || Amazon UK || BD || B&N || Kobo || Google Books

Review:

4.5 Stars

If you like:

  • Modern Day Fairytales
  • Cinderella Retellings with a Twist
  • YA Contemporary

Then this is for you!

Glimpsed is like Match Me If You Can by Tiana Smith with the fun that you want from a YA contemporary dealing with relationships.

From the moment that I read the synopsis for Glimpsed, I wanted to read it because even though it’s not a Beauty and the Beast retelling (which is my all time favorite), I have a deep love for the Disney Cinderella movies and will hop on a Cinderella retelling almost as fast as a Beauty and the Beast one especially when the MC isn’t one of the main characters from the retelling.

The thought of the MC being the fairy godmother to all of these Cinderella’s opened up another layer of uniqueness to this story that had me flipping through these pages way to fast to see what would happen with Charity having to deal with helping her Cindies in addition to having to deal with Noah who was inadvertently hurt by one of her wish granting moments.

“Fairy godmothering has been passed through the women in my family for generations, but it skips around like freckles or red hair… But being a fairy godmother isn’t just about the magic. It’s about a deep need to fix things. It’s a calling.”

Charity loves being a fairy godmother, and in the beginning it was kind of like riding a bike, but now that she’s been doing it for most of her high school career it’s almost like clockwork of trying to solve to get her Cinderella with Prince Charming. Likely Charity also has her grandma who is also a fairy godmother to help her along at times , and let’s face it, her grandma steals the show at times (in a good way of course)!

“I have complete faith in you. I know you’ll handle it. Like I said. Get ahold of her dirt. Or do her a favor so she owes you. Or move to Toledo and change your name.”

After Charity finds out that Noah is willing to spill her secret if she doesn’t help him get his love interest back, she agrees to help as much as possible even if it means having to work with him. But, as she spends more time with him, there meetings become less of a chore and more of something that boarderlines a *gasp* friendship. Charity also sees what it’s like to have a functional family since her parents are divorced with her mom working long hours and gone for work trips, her father in DC, and her sister overseas working with animals.

“He looks cocky in a way unique to dorks – like he just leveled up in Dungeons and Dragons.”

With Charity always working to make sure that those around her get their HEA, will she ever find one of her own or will she forever being the matchmaker?

Charity is a rather complex character because even though her home life is out of sorts, she put so much effort into making sure that these glimpses of the could future comes true for the people that she sees. She covers up all of her feeling that her mother is to busy to listen to by coloring her hair crazy colors and doesn’t seem to have any true friends, only acquaintances.

“I flop into an armchair that Mom strategically places at the perfect angle to facilitate conversations that never happen.”

With Noah in her life it’s almost like she finally has a friend (as annoying as he can be at times), but it’s not like they can get to close because it all started with him trying to blackmail her into helping him… right?

“We both go silent. The only sound is the bass drum in my head and the soft hum of the air conditioner. Then, simultaneously, we both confess, “I’m sorry I pepper sprayed you.”

Ohhh, your going to have to read this book for yourself to get all of the tea and to see if the fairy godmother ends up with a HAE of her own!

About the Author:

G.F. Miller can write 80,000-word novels, but ask her to sit down and write 250 true and meaningful words about herself and she is likely to have an existential crisis. Who am I, really? She ponders. What do I want to be known for? Does anyone even read the back flap or visit author websites?

But eventually she will pull herself together and tell you that…She married her college sweetheart and is mom to three littles who routinely make her heart burst and her head explode (it’s a messy business, love). There are puppies big and small residing at her house (you’ll be seeing a lot of them if you follow her on Instagram). She’s been to a dozen countries, but not nearly as many as she would like. She loves learning all the things. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party. 

While the stories she has brewing in her soul vary wildly from one another, there are three things they will always have in common: love, snappy dialogue, and happy endings.

Author Links:

Website || Goodreads || IG || YT

Tour Schedule

Happy reading until next time,

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Glimpsed by G. F. Miller Review + Favorite Quotes

  1. Pingback: February 2021 Wrap-Up and Haul | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s