Wake’s Claim Review with Playlist

Wake’s Claim by Michelle Dare

Synopsis:

“Wake had lived in fear for far too long. Life hadn’t been easy for him. Every day he resisted his natural instincts to claim the one female meant for him. An event from his past stopped him in his tracks every time his primal urges pushed him toward her. Paige accepted the role she played in Wake’s life. She was the one he wanted but never allowed himself to have. But when someone else showed interest in her, Wake had to decide once and for all. Putting his heart on the line left the shifter vulnerable, something he never wanted to be again. And just when he gave in to his instincts, fate dealt the pair a cruel hand. Nightmares came true, causing Paige to flee to the only place she felt safe—in the arms of Wake. Pack life wasn’t an easy life, but Paige wouldn’t give up the man who held her heart. Only together could the two move forward and find the happiness they both deserved.”

Review:

4.25 Stars

Wake’s Claim is the first book of a spin off series that follows Wake and Paige. The series before this one is The Ariane Trilogy which follows one of the characters in this book. You don’t have to read the Ariane Trilogy before reading Wake’s Claim (although according to the comments on GoodReads, you should read it). But apparently, I’m a rebel because I didn’t. I felt like any of the information I learned through flashbacks or thoughts of the characters of the events from the other books were explained enough for me to enjoy Wake’s Claim without totally being spoiled of the other series.

Is this my favorite werewolf book? I think so! The end of last year, I went through this huge werewolf phase were all I wanted was werewolves. I was able to find a couple of series that was kind of what I was looking for, but this story I believe is IT! It has mates, actually shifting (yes, there were stories about werewolves without shifting), and drama within the pack.

OMG the drama in this book!

Wake is in a constant internal battle because of Paige. His wolf has found his mate and wants nothing more than to claim Paige as his, while the human part of Wake is scared to because of some past events involving a spelling making him think that some other unmated female wolf was his. He wants to leave Paige behind to keep her safe from the paranormal world while everyone is trying to tell him that she is safest with him.

“I drop my gaze to my feet as my stomach knots.  I’d never want to scare Paige. Not in my human or wolf form. I can’t believe that happened. And now she’s afraid of me. “I’m sorry,” I mutter completely dejected.”

Paige realizes that even though she is a human (which is a breath of fresh air because it feels like every paranormal/fantasy book the “human” female MC is actually x, y, or z that has grown up as a human but has powers) her life is anything but normal. Her best friend is a vampire mated to a wolf shifter, and she has other vampire friends, and if that’s not enough, she hangs out at the pack house where she can’t seem to get away from Wake. Paige has accepted that she is Wake’s mate, and she embraces it, knowing that they are meant for each other.

“He smiles and my insides melt, instantly calming. His smile is lake a balm to my soul. It’s the stuff that romances are written about and an expression I haven’t seen nearly enough of… There’s no denying our connection.”

After many cold shoulders from Wake, and him leaving in hopes of keeping Paige away. Paige starts to understand that Wake would rather hurt them both by staying away, and she decides that since his made his decision of staying away from her, she should be able to live her life. Paige starts dating a human with boy next door looks and personality. She like him, but she feels no sparks of romance with Silas because Wake still has her heart. Everything is going well for Paige until she gets into an accident and Wake is suddenly there wanting to be there to be her protector at arm’s length.

Wake must decide if he wants to be out of Paige’s life for good or if he is going to claim her as his.

This story had me feeling so many feels within the first few chapters. I was sad for Wake because of what he had went through in the past, making him turn away his mate. Throughout the rest of the book, the feels only intensified once I saw how well Wake and Paige complemented each other, and are so close to each other, yet it feels like there’s so many obstacles keeping them apart

Wake’s Claim is a fast-paced, action pact, heartstring tugging book that will suck you into these character’s story.

Playlist

  • Where Do Broken Hearts Go by One Direction
  • Baby by Justin Bieber
  • Somebody’s Heartbreak by Hunter Hayes
  • Lost Boy by 5 Seconds of Summer
  • Rescue by Hunter Hayes
  • If I Can’t Have You by Shawn Mendes
  • One Call Away by Charlie Puth
  • Jet Black Heart by 5 Seconds of Summer
  • Perfect by New Hope Club Cover (originally by Ed Shereen)
  • Million Reasons by Lady Gaga

Happy reading until next time,

5 thoughts on “Wake’s Claim Review with Playlist

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a comment