Feather Book Review with Playlist & Blog Tour + Giveaway

Feather by Olivia Wildenstein 
Publication date: January 16th 2020
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Synopsis:

It was supposed to be a quick mission. The only thing quick about it was how rapidly I failed.

With only a month left to earn her missing feathers, nineteen-year-old Leigh embarks on a trip to Paris to meet her newest project, twenty-five-year-old Jarod Adler, leader of the Parisian Mafia and the worst kind of sinner . . . a Triple.

If Leigh can get Jarod to accomplish a single act of kindness, she stands to win 100 feathers, more than enough to complete her wings and ascend to Elysium, the land of angels.

What she doesn’t count on is Jarod’s dark charm costing her feathers.

She’s dead set on saving him, and he’s dead set on destroying her.

Until he realizes destroying her wings is also destroying her heart.

A heart he longs to hear beat only for him.

A modern ROMEO & JULIET retelling featuring an epic sinner and the angel who’ll stop at nothing to save him. Perfect for fans of NALINI SINGH and BECCA FITZPATRICK.

Book Links: Amazon || Goodreads

Review:

Review:
5 Stars:

If you like:
• Angels
• Morally Gray Characters
• Hot Guys
• Romeo and Juliet Love Story

Does anyone else feel like 2019 was the year of retelling and spin-offs? Well I just want y’all to know that Feather is definitely one of my favorite (if not THE favorite) retelling of the year. I’m going to try my hardest to make this an actual review and not an hour long monologue about how many feelings I felt about Jarod.

One of the biggest reasons as to why I wanted to read this book in the beginning is because it has angels which I feel like has kind of faded out in the book world over the last couple of years. Plus I’m a sucker for a good romance story. Like, who can resist a good Romeo and Juliet (especially if it’s like the T-Swift one)?

I’ll be honest, over the couple of days that I was reading this, I couldn’t put it down. I had to make myself put this book down at night because it was midnight and I had to get up in 6 hours to start my day, but how needs sleep after a long day running errands trying to get ready for Christmas when you have Jarod?

“Neither human nor angel could eclipse this man whose magnificent darkness devoured even the brightest of lights.”

At first, I wasn’t sure how to handle Jarod because let’s be honest, he’s a handful and a half. He has an exterior that’s as rough as sandpaper, and he had an attitude of a man that you didn’t want to be on his bad side because he could make you disappear in a heartbeat. Yet despite all of that, I feel just as hard as Leigh. There were those slight moments where he would let his guard down just a smidgen and give us all hope that there was a chance that he could be saved from enteral pain and torture.

Leigh has always done the right thing and has been a model angel student. She doesn’t stray from the rules that have been set since the beginning of time. It’s been her dream from the very beginning to use her life to help others,so it seems like the perfect choice for her to take on the job of saving someone like Jarod so she can complete her wings and be in the race to marry one of the high angels Asher in hopes of being able to travel and save those in need from destruction.

But what she doesn’t count on is Jarod, this sketchy man, to make her see that there are flaw in the ways that the angels work and not everything is as simple as she was made to believe. She also didn’t think that he would still her heart until it was to late to even notice it gone. Leigh realizes that even in her world with angels, things aren’t as black and white as she had thought and that there are flaws in the ways it’s been running.

With the clock ticking, Leigh has to decide if this man who makes her see life differently and make her want more is worth giving up her chance of immorality and the possibility of helping so many people.

This book had me feeling so many things. I was laughing at some of Leigh and Jarod’s antics, swooning when Leigh got winged by Asher and some of the other things that happens later in the book, and cried (for like the last hundred pages). Its been a hot minute since I cried that much while reading a book, and it was one of those ugly cries. I know that some people don’t like to read books that makes them cry, but I see it as one of those ways that show that you connect with a book on a deeper level because you feel those character pain, joy, or suffering

Playlist:

• Naked by James Arthur
• There’s Nothing Holding Me Back by Shawn Mendes
• Never Be Alone by Shawn Mendes
• Sign of the Times by Harry Styles
• Infinity by One Direction
• If Walls Could Talk by 5SOS
• Ruin by Shawn Mendes
• I Don’t Want to Live Forever by Zayn and Taylor Swift
• Monster Among Men by 5SOS

Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (US only)

  • Signed copy of Feather

Ends Dec 29th:

To enter the giveaway, click here!

AUTHOR BIO:

USA TODAY bestselling author Olivia Wildenstein grew up in New York City, the daughter of a French father with a great sense of humor, and a Swedish mother whom she speaks to at least three times a day. She chose Brown University to complete her undergraduate studies and earned a bachelor’s in comparative literature. After designing jewelry for a few years, Wildenstein traded in her tools for a laptop computer and a very comfortable chair. This line of work made more sense, considering her college degree.

Author links: Website || Facebook || Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram

A huge thanks to Giselle at Xpresso Book Tours for allowing me to help with this tour and giving me the opportunity to review this book!

Happy reading until next time,

6 thoughts on “Feather Book Review with Playlist & Blog Tour + Giveaway

  1. Pingback: BLOG TOUR: Feather – Life With No Plot

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Celestial by Olivia Wildenstein + Instagram Giveaway | Lala's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s