Knot My Type by Evie Mitchell Review

Synopsis:

He doesn’t do relationships.
She doesn’t do flings.
Everything they thought is about to unravel…

Frankie
When you say you’re a sexologist, people imagine Marilyn Monroe. They don’t expect a woman who uses a wheelchair. As the host of the All Access Podcast, I’m breaking barriers, crushing stigmas, and creating sexual connections that are fulfilling for my fans. I’m like cupid, but with pink hair and fewer diapers.
Only, I’ve hit a snag. A lovely listener wants some advice about accessible rope play and I’m drawing a big fat blank. Which leaves me with no option but to get out there and give it a go.
Which is how I meet Jay Wood—rigger, carpenter, and all-round hottie.
I’d be open to letting him wine and dine me—only Jay isn’t my type. He’s not a one-girl kind of guy. Monogamy isn’t even in his vocab, and I’m not a woman who’ll settle for being second choice.
But there’s something about Jay has me tied up in knots.
And it’s making me think, maybe I could compromise and accept a little Wood in my life. Even if it’s only temporary.

Jay
Frankie’s funny, intelligent, and ridiculously sexy. This should be a no-brainer. A little fun in the sheets, and a little romp with some ropes—simple.
Only the infuriating woman has commitment written all over her.
It’ll be fine. I’ll just ignore the chemistry bouncing between us.
Yep. Totally fine.
So… why does my heart feel frayed? And why is it I can’t help but consider taking the ultimate leap of faith—tying myself to Frankie. Permanently.

Review:

3.5 Stars

I enjoyed this book as is deals with disability and is very sex and body positive.

I went into this book without any information and at first that “knot” meant omegaverse and was happy. Then disappointed that it wasn’t but “knot” meant rope play and was like ok I’m back onboard with this book.

But the reason why I gave the book 3.5 stars instead of 4 stars was the 3rd act breakup which felt like it was literally in the last 20-30 pages of the book and we just ~magically~ get back together.

Let’s start back at the beginning of the book.

Frankie is the host of a podcast where she uses her degree in sexology to help people. She also goes on and talk about accessibility in sex and tries to open the door for those with disabilities to have a healthier sex life.

She had spinal tumors as a young child which has left her wheelchair bound, but she takes each day in stride and makes the most of life with her pink hair, wheelchair, and car. She brings so much life and joy to anywhere she goes despite her living with chronic pain.

She Mets Jay through mutual friends when one of her listeners asks about rope play, and Frankie wants first hand experience with it to be able to give an honest review, so one thing leads to another and she meets Jay.

With living in a small town everyone knows one another, but somehow they never really interacted prior to this. Jay grew up in foster care until he aged out but ended up staying with his last foster parents who treats him as one of their own.

Jay was welcomed into the world of sex exploration when he was kind of back packing through Europe after a disastrous relationship, and brought all he learned back to his small town where he opened a studio where he teaches it to people with disabilities of their own.

Frankie and Jay really hit it off, and he offers Frankie to come to a class for him to demonstrate rope play, and their chemistry is increased exponentially. Except, Jay doesn’t do relationships and can definitely see that Frankie is the relationship type.

But, they do agree to be friends with no benefits until Jay’s walls crumble and decides to date Frankie officially.

Life is great until the night of the Podcast award banquet where Jay meets someone from his past, and it literally hits the fan.

Like I said, I really love how sex positive this book is and how quick Jay is to make Frankie feel comfortable with her need, but the 3rd act break-up? Yes, Jay was finally able to work through things that has benign sitting with him for years, but really?

I mean overall I highly recommends book because of the disability rep and the sex positivity, but I’m just not over their little separation moment that literally lasted less than 72 hours in the book at the most.

Happy reading until next time,

Leave a comment